香港國際攝影節
工作坊

見證記憶行動認同給香港彩虹族群之影像工作坊

05.04—
30.04.2020
時間
現在 - 20204
導師
謝嘉敏
更多
謝嘉敏為攝影師錄像藝術家及藝術教育工作者生於香港現居紐約美國耶魯大學修畢藝術碩士美國巴德學院學士學位。 2013-2018年間任教於耶魯大學美術學院現為帕森設計學院全職教員。2014-2015年度Robert Giard Foundation獎助金、2017-2018年度耶魯大學同志研究基金研究獎2018年度的 Aperture 作品集獎得獎者。2019年紐約雪城大學攝影組織 Light Work 駐場藝術家

作品曾展出於連州國際攝影年展、Para Site 藝術空間、WMA 大師攝影獎作品展過渡」、香港現代電影節2016、錄影太奇彼岸觀自在III-最後的邊境及香港逸東酒店美國方面曾展出於紐約的美國華人博物館布朗克斯藝術博物館美國棕櫚泉藝術館康奈爾大學阿爾菲德大學、Capricious 畫廊費城攝影藝術中心及洛杉磯的 Eighth Veil 畫廊曾於光影作坊香港)、美國 Aperture 基金會紐約)、匹茲堡Silver Eye攝影中心及紐約公共圖書館舉辦個人展

2018年謝嘉敏與 Matthew Jensen Leslie-Lohman 美術館共同策展了「Daybreak: New Affirmations in Queer Photography」。作品見於《ArtAsiaPacific》、《 i-D》、《Dazed》、《Nueva Luz》、《Aperture》、《Papersafe Magazine》、《紐約時報》、《紐約客》、《NEWSPAPER》、《Monocle》、《Capricious Magazine》、《O, The Oprah Magazine》、《Salon》、《赫芬頓郵報》、《Slate Magazine》、《Hyphen Magazine》、《Time Out 紐約》、《Time Out香港明報》。

首部攝影集《narrow distance》2018年由 Candor Arts 出版
費用
課程費用全免為確保學員完成整個十個月的課程我們將收取HKD1,000 的承諾金待學員完成展覽後全數歸還若有經濟困難請提前向我們提出我們很願意酌情處理

展覽製作方面每位學員可獲技術支援和製作費補貼

簡介



每個人都有不同的故事,LGBTQ+ 朋友亦然透過LGBTQ+ 朋友切身訴說自己獨特的生命故事社會公眾可了解到性別之多元認識不同的性別特質看見這個世界的豐富美麗

 

攝影師錄像藝術家及藝術教育工作者謝嘉敏一向以鏡頭聚焦美國和亞太地區的LGBTQ+ 社群的身分和主體性的議題在這為香港的LGBTQ+ 社群而設的攝影工作坊她將指導有志於攝影創作的LGBTQ+ 朋友運用鏡頭創作真實的生命紀錄並透過作品發表和公開討論讓被邊緣化和未被看見的得以被看見和重視

 

這是為期十個月的學習歷程學員將學習各種攝影和錄像說故事的模式和策略與如何透過鏡頭展現其自我認同主體性及內心的真實感受

 

工作坊將提供一個安全環境讓學員可全程安心地探索他們各自有關性別與性向的表達方式從創作中找到屬於自己的語言

 

20194月起接受報名

 

連結工作坊詳情

你打算何時參觀展覽? 給你的精彩活動
給你的精彩活動

HKIPF
Workshop

Photography as Witness, Memory, Activism, and Recognition

05.04—
30.04.2020
Time
Now - April 2020
Facilitator
Tse Ka Man
About
TSE Ka Man is a Hong Kong-born photographer, video artist and educator who now lives and works in New York. She received her MFA from Yale University, her BA from Bard College, and has exhibited widely Asia and North America. Tse taught at the Yale University School of Art from 2013–2018 and is currently on the faculty at Parsons School of Design, The New School. Awarded the 2014-2015 Robert Giard Fellowship, the 2017-2018 Research Award from Yale University Fund for Lesbian and Gay Studies, and the 2018 Aperture Portfolio Prize, she was selected as an Artist in Residence at Light Work in Syracuse, New York, in 2019.  


Tse co-curated “Daybreak: New Affirmations in Queer Photography” (2018) at the Leslie-Lohman Museum with Matt Jensen. She has exhibited at the Lianzhou Foto Festival in Guangdong; and at Lumenvisum (a solo show), Para Site,WMA Masters Exhibition, “Transition”, 2016 Hong Kong Contemporary Film Festival, Videotage's “Both Sides Now III – Final Frontiers”, and Eaton Hotel in Hong Kong. Her U.S.-based exhibitions include the Museum of Chinese in America in New York, the Bronx Museum of the Arts, Palm Springs Art Museum, Cornell University, Alfred University, Capricious Gallery, Philadelphia Photo Arts Center, the Eighth Veil in Los Angeles and several solo shows: at Aperture in New York, Silver Eye Center for Photography in Pittsburgh, and the New York Public Library.

Tse’s photographs have been featured in a range of publications: Art Asia Pacific, iD, Dazed, Nueva Luz, Aperture, Papersafe Magazine, The New York Times, The New Yorker, NEWSPAPER, Monocle, Capricious Magazine, O, The Oprah Magazine, Salon, The Huffington Post, Slate Magazine, Hyphen Magazine, Time Out New York, Time Out Hong Kong, and Ming Pao. Her monograph narrow distances was published by Candor Arts in July 2018.
Fee
Participation in this workshop is free of charge. To encourage participants to complete the 10-month workshop, each participant will be required to pay a HKD 1,000 deposit, to be reimbursed upon completion of the exhibition. Participants who have financial difficulties should enquire with us about special arrangements regarding the deposit.

For exhibition production, each participant will receive technical guidance and a subsidy.

Overview



Everyone has their own stories, and the same goes for the LGBTQ+ communities. As members of the LGBTQ+ communities share their unique stories, it brings us to a deeper understanding of the diverse spectrum of gender identities, leading us to grasp the richness of the world we live in. 

 

Tse Ka Man, photographer, media artist and arts educator, has been exploring identity and subjectivity among the LGBTQ+ communities in the US and the Asia-Pacific region. In this workshop series designed for the LGBTQ+ community in Hong Kong, Tse will guide participants to explore photography as an act of self-recognition and to encapsulate their stories in images. The exhibition and public programmes featuring the participants’ work will put a spotlight on these marginalised voice, and illuminate their experiences for a wider audience. 

 

Throughout the 10-month learning process from June 2019 to April 2020, participants will experiment with different forms of expression and story telling by engaging in various genres and strategies of photography and video making. They will also learn new approaches to presenting their self-identification through image-making as a reflection of their subjectivity, perspectives and inner experiences.

 

The workshop will provide a safe environment for participants to explore presentation of gender, sexuality, gender non-conforming and non-binary identities, as they develop new tools of self-empowerment in their creative practice.

 

Open call starts from April 2019.

When are you visiting? Happenings for you