ART CRITICISM

Text by Tyrone Siu, the Chairman of the Hong Kong Press Photographers Association

In the film One Hour Photo, Robin William’s character says of family photo albums, “No one ever takes a photograph of something they want to forget.” People are forgetful, yet they want to preserve memento of precious moments. In the past, we stored personal memories privately, such as in diaries or family albums. By contrast, collective memory involves more momentous incidents such as historical, political, environmental and societal matters. As we more actively use photography to preserve what we see, the social function of photography rises in leaps and bounds. When photos are uploaded to various social media sites, the relationship between people and collective memory becomes ever more intertwined. Behind social media sites are memory storage systems that function in different ways than private diaries and family photo albums. Even though you may not intend it, the photos that you uploaded on the internet will be viewed by scores of strangers, and the internet becomes the repository not of your personal memories, but collective memories.

Who do we shoot photos for?

Every day, more than 300 million photos are uploaded and shared on Facebook. These images, videos and texts are arranged chronologically, and once we go online, we can revisit gatherings with friends from months ago or selfies from last year. These personal photos may not concern the public, but once they are uploaded on the internet, they become part of collective memory. In the past, we take pictures to record important events such as graduation, weddings, travels and children growing up. Each photo is usually backed up by events that we wish to preserve. Nowadays, with the cost of photography having fallen greatly, the motivation for taking pictures has become irrelevant and the meaning of photos has been blurred. Whether it is a cup of coffee we are holding or this morning’s breakfast, we want other people to see these items. Such photos embody our desire to attract attention even though they only have meanings for ourselves but not for others. To people living in this day and age, photo taking is a way to capture the moment and preserve fleeting feelings, yet the photos are meant for other people to see.

Most smart phones nowadays contain two camera lenses. Usually, the back camera is used for capturing what is in front of us, while the front camera is used to take pictures of ourselves (alone or with our friends.) It is hard to know how many of the 300 million photos uploaded on Facebook each day are taken with the front and back cameras, respectively, but it is safe to assume that many millions of them must be selfies. If we simply want to capture our immediate situations, we can simply use the back camera. Why do we feel the need to take pictures of ourselves?

Selfies from 1365 B.C.

Selfies are not something new. In 1840, a French financial official Hippolyte Bayard, upon losing the recognition by the French Academy of Sciences as the investor of photography and thus the sponsorship that came with it, wrote to the Academy in protest and attached with it the first selfie ever taken, titled “Self Portrait as a Drowned Man”. The picture shows a half naked man (Bayard) with his eyes closed; it is not a simple self portrait, but also contains elements of role play. Selfies did not appear out of the blue, but followed a tradition stretching back centuries. A selfie is a type of self portrait, and as early as 1365 B.C., Bak, an Egyptian sculpture working for the pharaoh Akhenaten, had produced a stela showing himself with his wife Taheri. Even though the anatomical proportions and sculptural techniques are not very sophisticated, it nevertheless carries the revealing qualities of self portraits. Later, in the 15th century during the Renaissance, artist Jean Fouquet produced a self portrait that is generally agreed to be the earliest painting of its kind in the Western tradition. When artists produce self portraits, they rely on mirrors to paint what they can see. American social psychologist Charles Horton Cooley’s concept of the “looking glass self” suggests that human beings act as mirrors for one another, reflecting each other’s self image, and that our sense of self is based on other people’s perception of us. The act of taking a selfie becomes a circular relationship whereby the painter observes himself in the mirror to create a self portrait, which then becomes a reflection of reality, and the cycle of self exploration begins anew. To a certain extent, self portraits record one’s identification with one’s alienation, with the self taking on the double role of creator and subject. In selfies, our various expressions and poses are the articulation of our subjectivity: we desire to be seen, but at the same time are afraid of losing ourselves.

What are you trying to say?  

Guo Mei Mei, the self-claimed China Red Cross Commerce general manager, showed off her wealth by posting pictures of brand-name handbags, watches, sports car and holiday home parties; actor Edison Chan showed off his sexual prowess with explicit photos of him and his female friends. One of the social functions of photos is to express oneself, which means expressing one’s situation and condition at a certain point on time. The motivation for taking pictures can be voluntary or involuntary. For example, if you are obliged to attend social functions like weddings, and whether you like it or not, you will need to pose for photos with the newly-weds with a smiling face. These photos serve a function to show that you are happy for the married couple. Such displays, like Guo Mei Mei’s show off pictures, or an image of a political refugee’s suffering, can be good or bad. As Austrian writer Stefan Zweig pointed out, people have an urge to create and preserve themselves, and use the self as a means to know oneself. Zweig thought that in order to know ourselves, we explain ourselves to others. Selfies contain within them the desire to be seen, and to a greater or lesser extent, also contain messages that people want to convey.     

Photos can be about myriad subjects, but “smiles” are probably among the most common. When facing the camera, no matter what our current mood is at the time, most of us can conjure up a smile for a the camera. When we open up a family photo album, it is a full of group photos of people smiling. Whether or not such smiles are genuine, the photos represent our aspirations for a better life, and most people would say they want to take a “better” picture. According to U.S. photography historian Geoffry Batchen, the way family photos are composed and the subjects’ poses are evidence of how people respond to social situations. Probably no one wants to see pictures of themselves or family members quarrelling, divorcing or dying. Smiling pictures can be used to convince ourselves that happier times occurred, even though there can be false memories involved. We use such photos to describe our versions of the ideal life, and expunge from our memories less ideal moments.

What happens if we happen to photograph unhappy incidents? Simply delete the photos, of course.

This article first appeared in Ming Pao (12 May 2013).
Translation: Simon Chung

Related

藝文賞析

文:蕭文超 (前香港攝影記者協會主席)

Robin Williams 在電影 One Hour Photo(戀相狂)中提及家庭相簿時說:沒有人會拍一些他們想忘掉的東西(No one ever takes a photograph of something they want to forget)。

人總是善忘但又渴望留下美好的回憶,過往我們將個人記憶放在私人領域,例如日記和家庭相簿;相對個人記憶的是公共記憶,這種記憶多涉及較重大的事件,例如歷史、政治、環境和社會等。但隨着我們更積極地利用照片保存我們所見的事,現代攝影的社交功能大大提升。當照片上傳至不同的網上社交系統,這種個人與公共的記憶空間開始融合,兩者變得難以分割,社交網站背後隱藏是一個記憶系統,與以往私密日記和家庭相簿不一樣,儘管不是你的預期,你上傳至網絡的照片總有不同的陌生人在觀看,網絡上留存的不只是你個人的記憶,還有的是公共記憶。

為誰而拍?

每日社交網站 Facebook 上傳和轉發的照片數量約三億張(還不包括其他圖片分享網站、博客、個人網站等)。當中的照片、影片和文字都按時間編排好,我們只要連接上網絡就可以再次重溫數個月前的朋友聚會、一年前的自拍照,這些個人照片對大眾也許沒有需要,但當照片上傳至網絡,這些個人記憶就有大眾做後盾。過往我們影相的目的是記錄重要的事情,如﹕畢業、結婚、旅行、嬰兒成長等,一般情況下,每張照片都有一定的事件在背後支撐,我們希望留下事件,於是我們拍照。但隨着現時攝影成本的大跌,拍攝需要的動機顯得不重要,照片意義變得模糊,因此不管是手上一杯咖啡、一份早餐,我們都要上傳到網站讓別人看到,這些照片大多有一種吸引他者眼光的渴望,對拍攝者也許具有一些意義,但對他者卻大多沒有意義。對現代人來說,也許只有拍攝下來,眼前的片刻和感覺才能真正轉化為屬於自己,但照片目的卻是留給別人。

現在智能電話大多擁有兩個鏡頭,在一般使用環境下,後面的鏡頭用於拍攝眼前所見的事,前面的鏡頭用於拍攝自己或與友人的肖像。每天 Facebook 上那三億張照片,我們難以估計用是前鏡頭還是後鏡頭拍攝,但不難想像自拍的起碼佔有百萬張以上,如果我們只是想表達自己當下身處的環境,我們大可用後鏡頭拍攝現場環境,為什麼我們還要使用前面的鏡頭拍下自己的樣貌?

公元前 1365 年的「自拍」

自拍絕對不是新興的產物,早在 1840 年,法國一名財務官員 Hippolyte Bayard 因在發明攝影術競爭中落敗失去巴黎科學院的贊助,於是他寫信並附上歷史上第一張自拍影像——「扮演溺水男子的自拍照(Self Portrait as a Drowned Man)」抗議。這張裸露半身雙眼緊閉的男子,並不單純只是拍攝自己,而是帶有「扮演」着其他角色的意義。這張自拍照並不是橫空出現,而是經歷多年應運而生的,自拍照可以說是自畫像(Self-Portrait)的另一種形式。早於公元前 1365 年埃及法老 Akhenaten 的雕塑家 Bak 已經完成自己與妻子 Taheri 雕刻作品,雖然身體比例和雕刻技術不成熟,但都有自畫的揭示功能。其後,就要追溯到 15 世紀文藝復興時期,法國藝術家 Jean Fouquet 於約 1450 年創作的自畫像,這幅自畫像普遍認為是西方傳統中現存的最早的自畫像。藝術家繪畫自畫像時,都是利用鏡子倒影繪畫出來,美國社會心理學家 Charles Horton Cooley 在 Looking-Glass Self 概念中提到「人們彼此都是一道鏡子,映照着對方」,即透過他人的眼光,建立自我主體。在自拍過程之中形成一個迴路關係,通過鏡子/屏幕的反照來觀察而成為作品的自畫像/自拍照又再次成為反映現實的鏡子,一個自我探索的循環由此開始。自拍照在一定程度記錄了對自己異化的認同,但自拍者擁有創造者和主體的雙重身分。從照片中,我們擺動着不同的表情和動作目的正是主體性的表達,我們渴望別人凝視,但又怕失去自己。

想表達什麼?

曾自稱中國紅十字會商業總經理郭美美於網上上傳的名牌手袋、手表、跑車、別墅派對照片,炫耀的是財富;藝人陳冠希與女性朋友的情慾照,炫耀的是性。照片其中一種社交功能是「表現自我」,即表達當下你身處的環境與狀況,拍攝的動機可以是出於自願又可以出於非自願;例如你因為人際關係被迫出席一些婚宴場合,無論你如何不滿,一般人還是會擠出滿面笑容與新人合照,這種照片功能是一種表現,表現你已經到場並表面上因為一對新人的婚宴而開心。此外,表達的情況可以是好或壞;可以是郭美美的炫耀財富,可以是政治難民要求援手時表達的苦。正如況奧地利作家 Stefan Zweig 解釋藝術家與自畫像關係時所言﹕「他們身上有一種衝動,塑造自己,保存自己,將自己作為自我來認識,為認識自我;我去解釋自己」。這些照片有一種預先期望被人注目的功能,它們或多或少帶有一些訊息渴望表達。

照片有著千變萬化的題材,但有着「笑容」元素的一定不少,當我們面對相機,大部分人無論心情如何,基於本能大多數也會立即擠出笑臉。正如我們打開家庭相簿時,看到的都是一張張充滿笑容的合照,這些笑容背後或真或假都表達對美好生活的嚮往,除非特別原因,否則多數人也希望自己被拍得「更好」。根據美國攝影史家 Geoffrey Batchen 的說法「家庭攝影」是攝影者與被攝者如何應對社會議題的證據,例如照片的構圖和身體姿勢。相信沒有多少人希望看到與自己或家人有關「吵架」、「離婚」和「死亡」為題材的照片,喜悅的照片證明一些曾經發生的歡樂點滴,帶着自我說服的功能和不真確的記憶,利用照片來描述他們理想的生活,並將生命上不如意的事情從記憶中撇除。

那麼如果我們拍到不愉快的照片怎麼辦?很簡單,直接移除它吧。

本文由《明報》授權轉載,刊於2013年5月12日《星期日明報》「風花雪月」專欄內。
編輯:方曉盈、顏澤蓉

Related