ART CRITICISM

Ways of Seeing Photo Exhibitions (1): Reflections on Faint Light, Dark Shadows (2017)
Ways of Seeing Photo Exhibitions (2): You can only obtain useful nutrients from an exhibition by walking through it three times at least
Ways of Seeing Photo Exhibitions (3): Seeing the exhibition for the third time

Seeing the exhibition for the third time

After seeing the exhibition for the second time using the nine methods mentioned above, it is now the time to see it for the third time, which is the most important and requires the most discernment.

Seeing an exhibition for the third time is the most important step to learning from great artworks and curators of great exhibitions.

First, try stay away (step back) from the exhibition walls, squint your eyes to look at each artwork. Basically, it is a reversed step of what you did during the second time looking at an artowkr. You try to “dig out” the most exquisite details of the work in front of your eyes during the second time. But then, during the third time, when you squint your eyes looking at it, you “leave behind all details” and simply look at the backbone structure of an artwork; usually this backbone is the key to success for a masterpiece.

I suggest that if, while appreciating artworks using this method, you spot an artwork with a backbone structure that offers you a good laugh in the heart, you should immediately draw it down.

After that, you still maintain your distance to the exhibition wall. This time, still squinting your eyes, you should find out the contextual relationship among works on a whole exhibition wall with your squinting eyes. This way of seeing is to learn from the curator. Other than the choice of artworks and artists in an exhibition, the greatest wisdom you can take from an exhibition is usually found in the contextual message revealed in the order and size arrangement of the exhibited artworks.

For the same artist, which of his or her works should be placed at the beginning of an exhibition? Which work should be displayed at the end?  Which work should be placed at the place that audiences should first look at when they walk into the exhibition? Which piece should be the main visual of an entire exhibition? (Why?)  Then there are also questions like, how big an artwork should be? How to pick the background colour of each exhibition wall?

The world is now in an environment where the rules keep changing. Traditions and habits are continuously confronted and subverted by new changes.  — Andrew S. Grove, Only Paranoid Can Survive

Similarly, for joint exhibitions, whose work should be shown in the foremost place? Which artist’s works should be displayed at the end?  Which artists comes before and which artist follows, and what kind of content is on display in the other artists? What kind of arrangement of the artworks makes an exhibition appear more vivid and rich? How to make the style of the exhibition complement the artworks? Will interesting content be emerged when comparing the contents shown on the right and left side of a wall or the front and back side of a wall? Or if there is a big wall inside a gigantic room, which work is to be displayed on one side and which on another side? Usually, these two artworks contain interesting content with a certain view that artists or curators want to convey.

In Faint Light, Dark Shadow, which is a joint exhibition with works from various artists, works displayed at the beginning of it are Lee Cha-yu’s In the Dark and Invisible Hours. Works of this artist are not only shown first but also occupy the biggest space. The audience can then infer that the curator holds the artist in high regard. If we enter the exhibition from the exit, the first work we see will be Chang Chien-chi’s Side Chain. Ho Ching-tai’s Occupational Injury Victims is displayed in the Circular Theatre inside. There are two rooms on its left, the first one is used to show Hou Peng-hui’s Self-Portrait, and the second one for Hou Shur-tzy’s Japan-Eye-Love-You. Therefore, works of these four artists can be thought of as being ranked behind the works of Lee Chia-yu and are the second most important works. All in all, if we pay attention to messages like space and position of artists and artworks in an exhibition, we can figure out the importance of these artist and artworks in the mind of the curator.

If you have gone to the Exposition du 30 Anniversaire du Musee d’Orsay Taiwan held in National Palace Museum, and have examined carefully the way that each artwork was presented, I believe it is not hard for you to notice the unique display of a work by Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890). The work La méridienne ou La sieste (d’après Millet) (73 x 91 cm, 1890) is displayed independently (shown at an obvious distance to other works on its left and right). The exhibition wall was also specially designed that there was a recessed area of nearly 10 centimetres from the wall. Through such special treatment of the exhibition space of the work, I believe the curator meant “As time passed till the time of La méridienne ou La sieste, it is a foregone conclusion that Impressionism became the major trend of printing.”

I suggest that you can deliberately take the end as the beginning. Try entering an exhibition from its exit and seeing the exhibition backwards. You may gain a different message from the exhibition. It might be an accident, but then when I saw Exposition du 30 Anniversaire du Musee d’Orsay Taiwan in such a way, it really offered me a special feeling.

For a solo exhibition with a certain topic, the contextual relationship shown in every work and in between each work is of exceptional importance. If the works are displayed in the “semantic spreading activation mode,” the size and shape of each work may be more meticulously designed. Also, what are the contextual messages?

I usually suggest students use pen and paper to jot down the flow of exhibition and the displayed artworks of the whole exhibition venue when there is major exhibition. It is the quickest way to learn from the great artists. It may be time-consuming and requiring lots of physical and intellectual energy, but it is absolutely worthwhile for students of art.

Photo exhibitions have been using scaled-down models of the exhibition venue to design the contextual relationship of displayed artworks, a practice that started in 1950s when the photo exhibition The Family of Man was held in 1955 at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Prominent artists and curators nowadays all use such method (constructing a 1:30 scaled model in a workshop) to consider the contextual relationship when arranging each artwork in the exhibition. While artists use such techniques to construct the flow of an exhibition, we as audience can also learn about the essence of the artists’ creativity by recording and drawing the ordering and contextual relationship of each artwork in an exhibition.

Let us have a look at Blind Date, an exhibition by Japanese celebrated contemporary photographer Lieko SHIGA held in Marugame Genichiro-Inokuma Museum of Contemporary Art between 10 June and 3 September 2017. From the way she showcased her new works in the exhibition, we immediately realise that in the concept of contemporary art creation, exhibition is not simply about how artworks are displayed anymore.

In the first and second space inside the exhibition, she used 21 Kodak Carousel Slide Projectors, projecting images or red light beams with similar ganzfeld to various walls at various projection distances. Besides, in these two separate spaces, one bigger and another smaller, 23 coloured and black-and-white pictures of different sizes were hung at different height so that each was partially illuminated by point lamps. In the third space, heartbeats of baby could be heard. There was a small coffee table, on a wall next to which and on the floor near which a hand-drawn blueprint of the exhibition by her was displayed. The forth space was a narrow corridor. From left to right, it was divided into five areas that were covered by her with a few thousands handwritten words, creating a narratives similar to a novel.

Nineteen slide projectors were installed in the first space and each had a slide tray that could house 80 slides. But then, between every two slides, Lieko Shiga inserts a blank slide so that only white light would come out of the projector.  Two projectors were used to only give out red light, while some projectors repeatedly displayed images with only slightly different tones for three to four times. Each of the 21 projectors had a number and each projector’s image had a theme. Such as:

#26 Mourning – Was Somebody Awake?; #27 Mourning – Demon’s lair; #28 Mourning – Shave the corpse’s hair and soak it in an amniotic pool of sugar water; #30 Mourning – Altar; #31 Mourning – Planet Nine; #32 Mourning – Open Grave; #33 Mourning – A song never to be sung again; #34 Mourning – Remembrance, Remembrance, Remembrance, until you can stand it no longer; #35 15.03.2011; #36 02.07.2009 – 18.07.2009. Bangkok; #37 Last Moment; #38 Iroha ni Konpeito; #39 Daybreak; #40 46 billion years; #41 Empty Casket; #42 Dried-up Well; and #43 Lovers.

Projectors #38, #39 and #40 were projecting images to various directions onto walls far away from them in the first space, the size of the images projected was therefore very large. Though projector #37 was installed in the first space, it gave out red light to the second space thought a door between the two spaces. Meanwhile, projectors #42 and #43 projected gigantic images onto walls on the two far ends of a space which was longer and narrower than the first space. In the fourth space, a narrow corridor, theme names were given to words written on the walls: #44 The Ghost; #45 Mourning; #46 The Reality and #47 A Song.

Lieko Shiga’s latest exhibition demonstrates that contemporary art photography has reached the level comparable to “making an exhibition like a concert.” For exhibitions of this level, all works created by artists before the exhibition assume the role of “elements.”  A contextual collaboration of these elements will be formed as a new metaphysical entity when they are displayed in an exhibition. The messages that this entity conveys can only be experienced by the audience attending the exhibition in person. When elements of this kind of exhibition are published as printed catalogue, the audience will experience a totally different content.

I believe friends who visited Faint Light, Dark Shadow in the Taipei Fine Arts Museum between March and June this year would agree that the display of artworks and the arrangement of the exhibition was meticulous. While visiting the exhibition, audience had a vivid visual experience. (Those who could not visit in person could only make an educated guess according to the floor plan shown in the exhibition’s catalogue.) Though the design of the exhibition was regarded as great, when we compare it to Lieko Shiga’s Blind Date, would Faint Light, Dark Shadow be considered too plain, too simple?  This may be the consequence of “ten times speed age” brought to human civilization.

Work from Huang Yu-zheng from the 56th class.

Today in 2017, world photography civilisation has been part of the era of Photography 4.0 for nearly 10 years. Human civilisation is experiencing earth-shaking changes so that almost all photographic traditions have been replaced by new alterations. Robots with AI has already started intensive learning programs and are trying to replace jobs done by human beings. The obstacles of photographic techniques have vanished, digital photography is omnipotent and almighty, and the number of images stored on the Internet is so enormous that describing it with an astronomical number is an understatement. These progresses that once shocked the general public in the first 10 years of the era of Photography 4.0 now look like a piece of cake. With progression at such a fast pace, not only the world looks different, but the meaning of photography is also completely altered. Now that the word “photography” has almost become extinct, when two persons talk about things relating to photography, it will be better to first offer a definition to it and discuss which photography dynasty the word is referring to. Or else, the discussion will fall into a deadlock similar to comparing between apples and oranges.  

The change of era is so fast, everything has become different.

Indeed, if we see our passion of photography as simply taking photo during holidays and travelling or just as a form of entertainment, then these rapid changes of photography can be ignored. But if you want to achieve something in the field of “photography,” which is called “image,” “image information communication” or “photo literacy;” or if you are an indicative individual, being one of the 14 indicative elements moulding the evaluation criteria of a region’s photography culture, how can you turn a blind eye to the rapid change of this era?

If you want to continue staying in close contact with the civilisation, please pay close attention to any news of art exhibitions in neighbouring first-tier cities! As mentioned at the beginning of this article, lifelong learning being a norm nowadays; visiting big art exhibitions in public art museums is the best source for us to obtain nutrients for life.

May I ask, what is the photography dynasty you are referring to for the photography you are talking about?

19 July 2017 Tienmu, Taipei.

Related

藝文賞析

觀看大型攝影展的方法(一):如何讓攝影展成為你生命的養份
觀看大型攝影展的方法(二):看展覽至少要看三遍,你才能夠從展覽中汲取有用的養分
觀看大型攝影展的方法(三):觀看展覽的第三遍

觀看展覽的第三遍

用上述 8 種方法看過展覽第二遍之後,就進入到最重要、也最需要悟性的第三遍觀看。

第三遍觀看,也是向偉大藝術作品或偉大展覽的策展人學習的最重要的觀看步驟。

首先,盡可能遠離(向後退)展牆,瞇著眼睛觀看每一件做品。這樣瞇著眼睛看,基本上與第二遍的觀看是「反向操作」。第二遍觀看,是盡可能從眼前的藝術品中「挖掘」最細膩的細節來品嚐。但是第三遍的瞇著眼睛觀看,卻是在觀看時「捨棄一切細節」只看作品的骨幹結構。而這樣的骨幹結構,往往是一張世界名作之所以會成功的秘訣。

我建議你在用這樣的方法觀賞作品時,看見能夠讓你會心一笑的骨幹結構的作品時,趕快把這張作品的結構畫下來。

接著,仍然用盡可能遠離展牆的距離,這次是瞇著眼睛觀看「整片展牆上所有作品之間的脈絡關係」。這樣的觀看是向策展人學習。一個有好評的展覽,除了這個展覽選了哪些藝術家的哪幾件作品之外,最高的智慧通常都用在如何安排展品順序與大小的脈絡性訊息書寫上面。

同一個作者的話,哪一件作品放在展覽第一張開頭?哪一件作品放在結尾?哪一張放在觀者進入個別展區時,第一眼會看見的地方?哪一件作為整個展覽的主形象?(為甚麼?)哪些作品要放大到多少尺寸?每一片展牆的背景顏色是如何選擇的?等等。

同樣的,眾多藝術家聯展的話,哪一位藝術家的作品放在展場最前面的位置?哪一位藝術家放在結尾?每一位藝術家的前或後,是甚麼樣作品內容的藝術家?每一位藝術家作品的展出形式如何調配,讓整個展覽的整體可以看起來豐富多變,而展出的形式又可以和藝術家作品的內容妥善配合。房間四周的牆上,右邊或前面牆上的內容和對面的左邊或後面牆上的內容,拿來比對後,是否會出現甚麼樣的有趣內容?或者,一個巨大房間裡面,如果有一片單獨的大牆面,則牆面的正面是哪一張作品,反面又是哪一張作品,這兩張作品通常都會有作者或策展人想要表達某種意見的有趣內容。

屬於聯展形式的這次《微光闇影》展,開頭第一個展覽的藝術家就是李佳祐的《在黑暗中》和《隱形時光》,這個作家的展覽不僅是整個會場的第一個,也是佔據最大空間的一位。觀者應該可以推測策展人對這個藝術家的作品評價有多高。如果我們把《微光闇影》展的出口當作入口逆向進入,則第一個映入眼簾的應該是張乾琦的《side chain》在外,何經泰的《工殤顯影》在裏的圓形劇場,而左手邊有兩個房間,第一間是侯鵬暉的《自畫像》第二間是侯淑姿的《Japan-Eye-Love-You》。相信這四位藝術家的作品在策展人心目中應該是排在李佳祐作品之後,處於第二等級重要的作品。總之,我們如果細心注意某藝術家或某件藝術品在展覽中所佔的位置空間大小等訊息,往往可以揣摩出策展人心中天平如何看待不同藝術家的作品。

如果你去過這次在故宮展出的「奧賽美術館 30 周年紀念展」,而且也細心觀察過每一幅藝術品的展示方式的話,相信你會不難發現文生·梵谷 (Vincent van Gogh, 1853 – 1890) 在 1890 完成的午睡 (La méridienne ou La sieste (d’après Millet), 73 x 91 cm) 作品的展牆,不僅獨立(和左右邊的其他作品距離明顯拉開),而且展牆還特別向內凹進進去將近十公分的深度。如此特殊處理這件作品的展示空間,我的揣測是策展人應該有「時代的演進,到了文生梵谷的午睡,印象派繪畫成為繪畫界主流的趨勢已經大局底定」的意思。

是的,我們建議您,不妨有可以刻意的把結束當開頭來看,就是從展覽的出口當作入口進入,逆著展出順序看展覽,往往就會看到相當不同的展覽訊息。儘管純屬意外,我這次觀看奧塞美術館30周年紀念展就是倒著看的,的確讓我有很特別的領受。

如果是同一個藝術家的特定主題的展覽,則牆上每一張作品與前後作品的之間的脈絡關係就異常重要。如果是「語意激發擴散式影像裝置」的話,展牆中出現的每一件作品的大小、形式,都可能有特別的講究,而這些脈絡又是如何?

通常我會建議同學把重要展覽的整個展場的佈置與展出作品的脈絡全部用紙筆記錄下來。這是最能夠從偉大的藝術家快速學習的方法。這樣的做法需要大量的時間,更需要大量的體力和腦力。但是對藝術學生而言,這樣做絕對值得。

從 1950 年代紐約現代美術館展出的《人類一家》(The Family of Man, 1955) 攝影展就開始使用縮小比例的展場模型來設計展出作品的脈絡關係。。當今世界各國重要藝術家、策展人都採用這種方法(在工作室搭建 1/30 大小的模型)來思考如何安排每一件展出作品的脈絡關係。既然作者是使用這樣的方法思考展場的脈絡,作為觀者的我們當然也可以從記錄繪製展場每一件作品的前後順序與脈絡中間學習到作者創作思考的精髓。

讓我們來看看日本知名當代影像藝術家志賀理江子,目前正在日本香川縣丸亀市猪熊弦一郎現代美術館展出的《Blind Date》(展期 2017.06.10 – 09.03),志賀用甚麼樣的想法展出她的最新作品,相信大家就不難了解當代藝術創作概念中,展覽已經不僅僅只是「如何將作品在展場中陳列出來」而已了。

志賀理江子在這個展覽的第一和第二個空間,動用了21台柯達旋轉木馬式幻燈片放映機(Kodak Carousel Slide Projector),各自朝著遠中近不一的投映距離,各自向著牆面投映著影像或類似有色視野基底的鮮紅色光線。另外,在區分成兩個大小不同的空間裡,牆上掛著23張大小不一,高低也不一,但是都用點光源局部照明的彩色或黑白照片。第三個房間則充滿嬰兒心跳的聲音,房間中有一個小茶几,茶几旁的牆上與茶几側面底下的牆上貼著志賀手繪的展出計畫圖。第四個房間其實是一條狹長的走道,依觀者觀看動線,分由右至左平均隔出五個區域,每個區域掛著由志賀書寫,每個區域大約數千字的小說般的文字敘述。

第一個空間的 19 台幻燈片放映機,每一台放映機幻燈片匣可以裝 80 張幻燈片,但是志賀在有的幻燈機片匣裡面,每兩張有畫面的幻燈片中間,夾著一張空白的幻燈片夾,讓幻燈機因此投映出全白的亮光。有兩台幻燈機用持續光投映鮮紅色的整片光線,也有的幻燈機用影調稍稍不同的相同畫面重複三或四次。21台往牆上投影的幻燈機都有編號,每一台幻燈機投映的影像內容也都有一個主題,如:#26 憑弔_有誰醒著?,#27 憑弔_鬼的住處,#28 憑弔_彼岸,#29 憑弔_把屍骸的頭髮剃掉、浸泡在像羊水的糖水裡,#30憑弔_祭壇,#31 憑弔_第九行星,#32 憑弔_墓穴,#33 憑弔_不可唱第二遍的歌,#34 憑弔_想著、想著、想著,直到厭倦,#35 2011 年 3 月 15 日,#36 2009 年 2 月 7 日到 7 月 18 日曼谷,#37最後一刻,#38 以呂波耳金平糖(日本連字遊戲兒歌),#39破曉,#40 46億年,#41 空棺,#42 枯井,#43 戀人。

其中, #38, #39, #40, 等四台幻燈放映機在第一個空間朝向前後左右的方向,往距離最遠的牆面投映影像,也因此投映出來的影像尺寸十分巨大。#37幻燈機雖然身在第一個空間,但卻穿過第一與第二空間的中間門,將鮮紅色的光線投映到第二空間。#42, #43, 幻燈機則在比第一個空間更狹長的空間中,朝前後兩端的遠距離牆面投映巨大影像。第四個房間的狹長走道上的文字也取有題名:#44 亡靈,#45 憑弔,#46 現實,#47 歌。

從志賀理江子最新展覽的訊息呈現看來,當代藝術影像創作,已經出現將展覽當作演唱會表演的層次了。進入這種層次的展覽,藝術家在此前創作的所有作品都變成了「素材」的角色,創作者將所有素材在展出現場,用素材間的脈絡組合成為一個全新的形而上的整體。關於這種整體要傳遞的訊息,觀者只有在現在這個展場中才能夠體驗得到。當與展場中出現的一切素材被編輯進入印刷出來的紙本作品集時,觀者能夠經驗到的,又全然是另外一種層級的內容。

相信今年三月到六月間在台北市立美術館看過《微光闇影》展的朋友,都會覺得整個展場的作品布展和安排都十分用心講究,觀眾觀賞時經歷的視覺經驗也十分活潑(對未能親臨現場觀賞的朋友而言,也只能在展覽簡介後方的展場佈置平面圖揣摩一下了)但是,如果我們能夠親臨北美館的《微光闇影》和丸龜市的志賀理江子《Blind Date》展的話,也許就會覺得其實應該已經算是非常了不起的《微光闇影》展場設計,會不會「太樸素、太簡單」了一點?

這恐怕就是後十倍速時代為人類文明帶來的結果。

我校日間部第 56 屆黃于真同學靜物攝影作品

2017 年今天,世界攝影文明進入「攝影 4.0 版時代」已經將近十年,人類文明正在經歷翻天覆地的變化,幾乎是一切攝影傳統規則早已被新的變化顛覆殆盡。和「人工智慧連線的機器人,已經開始深度學習試著要取代人類攝影師的工作」相比,攝影技術門檻消失於無形,影像數位技術已經出神入化、無所不能,網路上貯存著用「天文數字」都無法形容於萬一的數量的影像,這些在攝影 4.0 版時代最初十年已經讓普羅大眾瞠目結舌的十倍速進步,已經成為「蛋糕一片」的程度。在這些進步速度底下,不但世界的外觀已經全然不同,攝影的定義也完全改觀。如今不僅「攝影」兩個字快要成為死語不能通行,當人們談論攝影的種種的時候,最好都要先定義一下,我們口中出來的「攝影」兩個字是指著那一個朝代的攝影而言。否則兩人的談論肯定要陷入「雞同鴨講」的僵局。

時代的變化是如此的快速,一切都已經不一樣了。

當然,如果我們對攝影的愛好,僅止於假日旅遊拍拍紀念照或者只是把攝影當作休閒娛樂,攝影這些極速變化你應該可以忽視,但是如果你想在原先稱為「攝影」現在被稱為「影像」或「影像訊息傳播」(Image Information Communication) 或「影像訊息讀寫」(Photo Literacy) 領域中有所作為的話,或者你身為本文前面將的那 14 種形塑所在地域攝影文化價值判斷基準的指標性人物的話,你怎麼能夠忽視時代的極速變化呢?

如果你想要一直和世界文明持續保持著即時連動的話,那就請你密切注意鄰近各國一線城市的藝術展覽活動的消息吧!正如本文開頭所說的,在終身學習的今天,觀看公立美術館舉辦的大型藝術展覽是我們吸收生命養分的最佳食材啊!

請問,你講的攝影,是哪一個朝代的攝影?

2017 07 19 於台北天母

Related