ART CRITICISM

TEXT : Ire Tsui

While F11 focuses on heritage preservation and exhibiting the works of photography masters, the newly opened F22 Photo Space is a contemporary arts venue that serves as a veritable lifestyle space possessing multiple functions including gallery, bookstore and café. If F11 represents the past, then F22 embodies the present and the future in its mission to discover new photography talents, and by being run according to commercial principles to promote art photography. The opening event is a solo exhibition of Chinese poetic photographer Huang Jing, winner of the 2011 Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award. Huang’s black and white portraits of city life shift between the unreal and the everyday, perhaps signaling to us that we ought to linger and feast our eyes before continuing on our ways.

Time, shadow, light and life are the eternal themes of photography.

“In the world of photography, there is no past that we cannot return to
In the bustling city, in between black and white
Capturing light and witnessing time”

The above is from a Facebook post from LAAB Architects, the team responsible for the spatial design of F22, which aptly describes the black camera lens-shaped revolving doors at the entrance of the gallery, which gives the impression that one is penetrating the world of photography, and signals that one is entering a space that expresses the points of view of photographers rather than just a conventional white-box gallery.

Situated on the 5th and 6th floors of a commercial building in Causeway Bay’s Tin Lok Lane, F22 boldly connects the two floors with a black circular staircase, thus creating an open workshop-like gallery space. With black and white as its main tone, the 5th floor houses the gallery, photography bookstore and a retail shop for limited-edition items, while the 6th floor contains an open-plan gallery and café with comfortable seating, allowing visitors to enjoy refreshments while browsing exhibits.

The freedom to browse

The opening show of the gallery is a solo exhibition of Chinese poetic photographer Huang Jing’s works. F22 founder and director Douglas had known Huang Jing for six years, and heaps praises on his works. “Huang Jing is only 30 years old. The subject matters of his photographs are all connected with his immediate surroundings, like his family, friends and the city he lives in, expressed in an off-hand style.” Curator Jin Dan Dan describes Huang’s work as having a “nonchalant sense of order”, seemingly aimless on the surface, like a Kafkaesque daydream.

“Perhaps I will never become a good writer, for I find it hard to describe these things with words.”

Huang graduated from the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts, majoring in photography, and now lives in Shenzhen. He was the recipient of the Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award in 2011, and his works have been shown in numerous art galleries and museums in Europe and China. This solo exhibition divides his photos into three categories: city, objects and space, and light, which are arranged within the gallery’s two floors and accompanied by text chosen by the photographer himself, such as Nobuyoshi Araki’s quote, “ Art is all about doing what you shouldn’t. ” and  Josef Koudelka’s line, “A single photograph can tell a lie, but a book cannot. ” The juxtaposition between images and text brings out another level of meaning to the photographs. In sharp contract with conventional galleries, F22 encourages a casual and unrestricted viewing approach. Wandering among the various photos depicting sand and stone, a pair of shrimps, flies, balls being thrown, water pond, escalator, Disneyland’s sparrows, seaside, buses and parks, the relationship between viewer and work becomes ever more intimate. Such everyday cityscape in Hong Kong, Shanzhen and Meizhou are all inter-connected in some ways; these images may be abstract, but at the same time strangely familiar.

The opening exhibition is a solo show of photography poet Huang Jing’s works. In his images of everyday life in the city, do you recognize dreams or reality?

Photography works and texts by photographers sit side by side, creating a unique viewing experience.

A two-storied living gallery space 

“From our experience with running F11 FOTO Gallery, we found that most galleries tend to show works by big name photographers only, and that there are few opportunities for young photographers to exhibit their works. That is why with this new space, we want to experiment with a more commercial approach to running a gallery and try to strike a balance between art and commerce,” revealed Douglas, adding that F22 not only exhibits photographers’ works, but also puts them on sale so that photographers can have a source of income to support their work. The gallery is collaborating with Asia One Books to operate a photography bookstore, as well as setting up a pop-up store to sell vintage cameras and merchandise. The café has a tranquil and intellectual feel, decorated with industrial-styled furniture and tables made from recycled wood from Wan Chai pier. Under the muted lighting, the space provides a comfortable environment for people to watch documentaries, read and chat. The menu features specialty coffee beans, offering selection of traditional and modern flavored coffees, and the hand-crafted coffee and hot cocoa are extremely flavorful.

F22 Photo Space is set to officially open in September 2017, and will hold regular photography seminars and other events.

Translation: Simon Chung

Related

藝文賞析

TEXT : Ire Tsui

F11攝影博物館主力保育、推廣攝影大師作品,新開的攝影空間F22則走當代藝術路線,集畫廊、書店、零售和咖啡店於一身,儼如複式生活空間。如果F11代表過去,F22則是現在和展望未來,發掘新生代攝影師,嘗試以商業模式推廣藝術攝影。開幕展帶來2011年Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award攝影新人獎得主,中國攝影詩人黃京的個人攝影展「叁叁貳貳」,作品呈現的黑白城市片段,散漫有序,在非現實與日常之間,是否隱喻我們應該在此停駐,凝視,再出發?

時間、光影和生命,是攝影的永恆命題。

「攝影世界裡  沒有來不及  回不去的過去
    鬧市之中 黑白之間
    捕光  捉影  看時間」

這是負責F22室內空間的設計團隊LAAB Architects,在臉書寫下的句子。形容畫廊入口的標誌式黑色相機鏡頭旋轉門,讓人以為自己走進了「攝影」的光影空間,這不是傳統的白盒子空間,而是表現攝影家「視點」的故事場所。

F22位於銅鑼灣天樂里商廈的5、6樓,大膽地將單位上下兩層打通,以黑鋼旋梯連結,打造寬敞、工作室風格的畫廊空間,主體是冷調黑白色。5樓設有畫廊、攝影書店、限定商品零售店;6樓則是開放式畫廊和咖啡室,提供精品咖啡和舒適的桌椅,讓咖啡香,伴隨展示作品的奇幻的意象,引領客人自由想像。

自由的觀看方式

開幕首展,是中國攝影詩人黃京個展。創辦人/總監蘇彰德早於六年前認識黃京,對其作品讚口不絕:「黃京今年三十歲,拍攝題材是他身邊事物,如家人、城市、朋友,卻有一種不經意的表達方式。」策展人金丹丹則形容黃京作品是一種「散漫秩序」,表面上漫無目的,如白日夢般境況,有點卡夫卡。

「我可能永遠都不會成為一個好作家,我難以用語言去描繪它們。」

黃京,畢業於廣洲美術學院攝影與數碼藝術專業,2011年獲Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award,作品曾於多間歐洲和中國美術館展出,現居深圳。個展作品略分為城市、物與空間、光線三大類別,分散於兩層畫廊空間,配上攝影師挑選的字句,如荒木經惟的「 Art is all about doing what you shouldn’t. 」、Josef Koudelka 的「A single photograph can tell a lie, but a book cannot. 」,在文字和視覺間拼撞出不同意境。別於傳統畫廊,這兒鼓勵自由、隨意的觀看方式,那怕是砂石、雙蝦、蒼蠅、拋球、池塘、扶手電梯、迪士尼的麻雀、海邊、公車或公園,影像與觀者的關係如夢隨影,卻原來是香港、深圳、廣州、梅州等的日常城市景像,帶着無以名狀聯繫。抽象,卻不陌生。

首展為中國攝影詩人黃京個展,在其日常城市照片中,你看到的是什麼樣子的世界?是夢,還是真實?

展場中將攝影作品和攝影師金句,交錯擺放,營造獨特的閱讀體驗。

複式生活畫廊空間

「從過去在F11辦博物館的經驗,我們發現香港較少人做大師作品展外,讓年輕攝影師發表的機會也不多,因此我們以商業模式實驗,嘗試平衡藝術和商業元素的新空間。」蘇彰德表示,F22 一方面讓攝影師發佈作品,另一方面營銷作品支持他們繼續創作。因此畫廊邀請 Asia One Books 合作經營攝影書書店,同時開設限定店,售賣古董相機、商品;咖啡店方面,則走寧靜知性路線, 家具採用工業風椅子 配搭灣仔碼頭木再生桌,在柔光與黯黑之間,是舒適的休閒空間,客人可以欣賞牆上紀錄片、閱讀、聊天,餐飲主打精選咖啡豆,每日提供兩種 Traditional 和 Modern 口味,其手沖咖啡和熱可可,味道香醇。

畫廊於 2017 年 9 月開幕,並會定舉辦攝影講座等。

Related