ART CRITICISM

TEXT : Ire Tsui

There are numerous photo museums throughout the world, like the Tokyo Photographic Art Museum, the Foam Fotografiemuseum in Amsterdam, Fotografiska in Stockholm and California Museum of Photography. Yet, despite the rise in the number of art photography aficionados, Hong Kong still has only few venues to hold large-scale photography exhibitions, and there are no museums dedicated to collecting photography works. The privately-run F11 FOTO Museum, situated in a Grade III historical building in Happy Valley, was founded by Douglas So, who also serves as its director. Douglas is a Hong Kong solicitor and had served many charities in the field of education as well as for the Jockey Club. He is passionate about art, photography and curatorship. He and his team had spent several years turning an old building in Yuk Sau Street into a space for promoting photography and heritage conservation.

Photography encompasses a large realm that includes camera, visual history, documentary and news photography, artistic creations, self exploration and publishing, and touches upon society, history, politics, daily living, art and technology. Douglas shares his views on the importance of life, “Photography is fascinating because it widens our perspectives and arouses people’s interest in international affairs and aesthetics, giving them exposure to people from different walks of life.

The ground floor and first floor of F11 are exhibition galleries

In order to preserve the unique character of the building, the museum team carefully considers its spatial arrangement.

Only in Private Museums

F11 FOTO Museum organizes three to four exhibitions a year, and had previously shown the works of Elliott Erwitt, Robert Capa, Bruno Barbey, Paolo Pellegrin, Sergey Ponomarev and Werner Bischof. From photography masters to the one of the founders of Magnum and documentary photographers, these exhibitions featured works with strong visual styles and on subject matters of great social and historical relevance. “When I bought this building in 2012, in order to match its art deco style and due to certain limitations of the architectural space, we decided to specialize in art and photography related activities. We position ourselves as halfway between gallery and museum, with the latter being more oriented towards culture and education, and we offer a large range of programs including private collections of photography works, high quality exhibitions, education, research and publishing.”

F11 focuses on showing the works of photography masters, such as a retrospective on well-known photographer Elliot Erwitt, and allows works from different nationalities, eras and styles to be shown in Hong Kong. On different floors of the building, a private collection of Leica cameras, photography books and related information are displayed, and visitors are welcome to browse through and study them, thus making the space a kind of photography aesthetics centre. “The government and commercial galleries will never do these things, but I believe they play an important role in educating the public about photography.” The advantage of private galleries is its greater autonomy, and Douglas’s enthusiasm for this space is evident. Not only does he personally invite various photography masters to hold exhibitions in Hong Kong, he also spends a great deal of effort on exhibition design and artwork arrangement. For example, with the exhibition of French photography entitled Return To Beauty – Jacques Henri Lartigue and his world held earlier this year, Douglas and the design team carefully considered the presentation style, wall color, graphic design, lighting and even the font type. For example, the name of each work was handwritten to match style of Lartique’s handwritten journal.

Curatorship and sharing

The columns inside F11 FOTO Museum contain the autographs of many famous local and overseas photographers. “The museum welcomes many different types of visitors, such as primary school and secondary school students, photographers and related professionals. Those who like cameras will pay more attention to equipment. We also let students know about older photography technologies such as instant cameras, while photography exhibitions serve as a kind of aesthetics education.” The top floor of the museum has a large collection of photography books and collections. It can hold sharing sessions and seminars, and also promote research and publishing. “As a collector, we must also share our knowledge and do research on our collection. Only in this way can we have greater interaction with users.”

F11 will be collaborating with a French curator to hold an exhibition of works by Alexander Rodchenko in October 2017, showing some 120 of his works. Born in the 20th century in the former Soviet Union, Rodchenko was an artist, sculptor and photographer who founded the constructivism and Russian design movements. Rodchenko’s photography reflected social reality while exploring new forms. Frequently employing unconventional framing such as high or low angles to bring about a sense of visual shock, his works force viewers to look at familiar objects in new light. “This is the 100th anniversary of the October Revolution, but there has been scant discussion of such classic Russian art aesthetics in Hong Kong.”

The team behind F11 has another upcoming plan—they will be opening a new photography space, F22 at Tin Lok Lane in Causeway Bay, forging yet another exhibition pathway.

Translation: Simon Chung

Related

藝文賞析

 

TEXT : Ire Tsui

世界各地的攝影博物館,有東京都寫真美術館、阿姆斯特丹 Foam Fotografiemuseum、斯德哥爾摩Fotografiska、加州攝影博物館等;近年攝影藝術愛好者增多,在香港舉辦的大型攝影展,卻廖廖可數,更沒有專門收藏攝影作品的博物館。位於跑馬地三級歷史建築物的私人博物館 F11 FOTO Museum,創辦人/總監蘇彰德,是香港事務律師,曾於教育界別、賽馬會、慈善公職,他熱愛藝術、攝影和策展,與團隊在過去數年間將毓秀街這幢舊建築,變成推廣攝影、保育空間。

攝影是一個國度,題材廣泛,從相機、視覺歷史、紀實新聞、藝術創作、自我探索到出版等,觸及社會、歷史、政治時代、生活民生、藝術、科技等事物。蘇彰德分享攝影對生活的重要性:「攝影之所以吸引,就是因為可以擴闊我們的眼界,吸引讀者去了解國際議題、美學風格,還有接觸不同背景的人。」

F11地下和一樓為展覽廳

為了保留建築物的獨特風格,在空間處理方面,博物館都會小心安排。

私人博物館才會做的事情

F11 FOTO Museum 每年舉辦約三、四個展覽,展出攝影師名字有 Elliott Erwitt、Robert Capa、Bruno Barbey、Paolo Pellegrin、Sergey Ponomarev、Werner Bischof 等,從大師到 Magnum 創辦人、紀實攝影師,視覺風格強烈,議題具時代和社會性。「2012 年買下這幢舊建築時,為了配合這兒三十年代藝術裝飾風格、建築空間限制,我們決定做與藝術、攝影相關的業務;在畫廊與博物館之間,後者具文化和教育意義,節目也較多樣性,包括攝影作品私人收藏、高水準展覽、教育、研究和出版。」

F11專注發展大師級內容,邀請攝影大師如 Elliott Erwitt 辦展覽,讓不同國籍、年代和風格的作品在香港展出;同時在不同樓層,設立私人珍藏的 Lecia 相機藏品區、攝影書架和相關資料,讓參觀者瀏覽/研究,儼如一個攝影美學中心。「 這些政府和商業畫廊不會做的事,我們卻相信對大眾的攝影教育,具有重要的影響。」私人博物館好處是自主性強,也可見到蘇彰德投入策展工作的熱枕,親自邀約大師來港辦展覽外,也在展覽設計、佈展工作上投入時間和心思。在今年的法國攝影展《Return To Beauty – Jacques Henri Lartigue and his world》,設計團隊從展示方式、牆身顏色、平面設計、燈光,甚至字體都有細緻考慮,連作品名字都是手寫,目的是為了展現 Lartigue 手帳中的美學。

精心策劃和分享 

在 F11 FOTO Museum 的柱子,有不少海外、本地攝影師親筆簽名。「前來博物館,有小學生、中學生、攝影師和業界等;例如喜愛相機的人,會關注器材;既可以讓學生認識舊攝影技術,如即影即有;展覽中的攝影作品也是一種美學欣賞教育。」位於博物館頂層有大量攝影書籍和藏品,更不時舉辦分享會和講座,推動研究和出版。「作為收藏家,我們還要分享,對藏品進行研究,這樣才能夠在過程中與用家互動。」

F11 還會與法籍策展人合作,於 2017 年 10 月舉辦 Alexander Rodchenko 的作品展,展出近120幅作品。這位生於二十世紀的前蘇聯美術家、雕刻和攝影家,是結構主義和蘇聯設計學派的創辦人,Rodchenko 的攝影作品反映社會現實,追求新形式,他經常從出人意料的角度拍攝,以俯視或仰望為觀賞有來震憾,或讓熟識景物帶來新角度。「今年是俄國革命一百周年,香港卻鮮有人提這些經典的俄國藝術美學。」

而 F11更還有另一個計劃——於銅鑼灣天樂里開設新攝影空間F22,走另一條展覽路線。

Related