ART CRITICISM

TEXT : Ire Tsui | PHOTO : Billy H.C.Kwok @ ATUM Space

Po Tuck Street, situated along the hillside in Sai Ying Pun, lies amidst a community filled with residential buildings, restaurants, small shops and garages. In June, a group of independent documentary photographers started ATUM Space in this neighborhood. This space contains a gallery, a café, and has the capacity to hold exhibitions and workshops. The first exhibition held there is 8×10, a retrospective of works by veteran photographer Wong Kan Tai. Containing three zones, the exhibition features works taken from Wong’s books The Queen’s, which recorded the colonial history of Hong Kong and Macau in the past 30 years as well as ‘89 Tiananmen, showing the site of student protests in Beijing in 1989, and takes viewers on a photographic journey to the past.

ATUM Space is located on Po Tuck Street in Sai Ying Pun. There is a strong sense of community, and the space encourages interaction among people.

Documentary Photography’s New Role

ATUM Images is founded by eight local photographers working for various photojournalism platforms such as New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Guardian, Washington Post, Initium Media, Getty Images and Bloomberg News. They also take part in various other photography-related works and are passionately concerned about various issues. With this bright and airy ground-floor venue and comfortable seating, ATUM Space aims to appeal to the wider community. The menu features simple fare like all-day breakfast, pasta and dessert.  Exhibitions and activities centre on local documentary photography such as documentary photography workshops run by experienced local photo-journalists, and exhibitions of works by Taiwan and Mainland Chinese photographers are planned for the future. The founding team hopes to run the space as both an education and commercial venue so that it can be sustained in the long run. 

Is photography a niche art form? The news photos that we come across every day are all works of photojournalists. As our lives become more and more influenced by digitization and technology, visual images are having greater relevance on people’s lives. However, visual image literacy is sorely lacking and is effectively side-lined. Compared with the situation in other countries, Hong Kong needs to create more opportunities to promote the culture of photography. Independent news photographer Lam Yik Fei, one of the founders of ATUM Images/Space, thinks that photography should be promoted as more than just a hobby, for it also has a social role to play. “With the popularization of digital technology, photography is no longer a specialty trade. In the past, the bar for being a photographer was higher, but now more and more people are exposed to photography. We should go beyond just taking pretty pictures, but expect that photography reflects the core values of the time as well as the industry.”

Connecting the new generation with the old 

“The current media landscape has negatively affected the development of documentary photography. If good news photography were to appear, would the public be able to appreciate it? Mainstream media is dictated by hit rate, and ultimately, who can tell what is a good or bad photo? Heads of large corporations may not be able to distinguish between the two, while small independent media platforms, no matter how well-run, are under immense operational pressure.” Lam revealed that the Hong Kong documentary photography profession is facing a talent gap whereby the older generation is retiring while the younger generation is unaware of the development of the profession up until now, and are unfamiliar with notable works from the past. Therefore, promotion and education are of utmost importance. 

“The earliest documentary photography in Hong Kong probably started with the South China Morning Post, and in most local newspapers, reporters were also responsible for the photography. With the emergence of Apple Daily in the 1990s, the news profession started to pay attention to images and documentary photography began to be developed. In recent years, web journalism has taken the lead, and photography has to be tailored for online usage.” Through exhibitions, the team hopes to trace the development of Hong Kong’s documentary photography history, as with the retrospective of Wong Kan Tai’s works. They also plan to conduct guided tours for students and hold workshops and seminars. “In addition to documentary photography, we also intend to carry out different kinds of photography workshops, such as a planned collaboration with Polaroid. This represents another kind of aesthetics, which directly or indirectly influence people who appreciate visual images. This street is interesting; it is near the University of Hong Kong and schools, which allows us to come in contact with various students. This neighborhood has a strong sense of community—the garage next door has a dog that visits us frequently. During the week, most of our customers come from around here, and many foreigners also visit. On weekends, there are many tourists and families. The café welcomes different kinds of people. It can be a working space with students coming to do homework and reporters working on their assignments. People can relax and enjoy exhibitions, browse photography books or join workshops, and connect with different types of people.”

Translation: Simon Chung

藝文賞析

TEXT : Ire Tsui | PHOTO : Billy H.C.Kwok @ ATUM Space

位於西營盤山道旁的保德街,長窄小區內有住家、餐廳、小店、車房。六月剛開了一家由獨立紀實攝影師們主理的 ATUM Space。店內有畫廊、咖啡店,可以辦攝影展覽、工作坊。首個展覽《8×10》是資深攝影師黃勤帶的作品,帶來過去三十多年來紀錄港澳兩地殖民地時光《皇后旅館》、六四現場《89’廣場的日子》,一幅幅黑白照,是生活的其中一部分,卻讓觀者走進光影和時間的長廊。

ATUM Space 選址西營盤保德街,社區感強,也讓空間多了人與人的互動。

紀實攝影,還有新角色

ATUM Images成員包括本地八位攝影師。團隊為新聞攝影媒體平台,關注人權、環保、時事等各類議題,曾為多家本地、國際媒體及圖片社進行拍攝任務,包括《紐約時報》、《華爾街日報》、《衛報》、《華盛頓郵報》、《端傳媒》、Getty Images及彭博新聞社等,同時從事不同面向的攝影工作。ATUM Space 則以實體店接觸大眾,店子選址地舖,空間寬敞,咖啡香,坐位舒適,食物以簡餐為主,有 All Day Breakfast、意粉、甜點等。展覽和活動重點為本地紀實攝影,如由資深本地攝影記者擔任導師的紀實攝影工作坊,未來也會籌備台灣、中國內地的攝影師作品展。團隊希望以教育配合商業營運模式持續下去,讓空間得以生存下去。

攝影偏鋒嗎?我們每日看到的新聞圖片都是攝影記者的作品,隨着生活愈來愈數碼、科技化,視象對大眾將有更重要的影響和意義。現實卻是視覺影象訓練太少,甚至可以說是冷門。與外國攝影師相比,香港需要自製更多機會推廣攝影文化。 ATUM Images/Space 的創辦人林亦非,本身是獨立新聞攝影師,他認為推動攝影不能只作為興趣,還需要角色。「數碼攝影普及,令攝影不再是專門手藝,以前入行有門檻,現在反而多了人接觸攝影,我們想說的不只是如何拍一張好看的照片,還有時代意義、行業價值觀。」

連結新舊時代斷層

「香港傳媒環境/生態,令紀實新聞發展不如理想,即使有好的新聞攝影,大眾/讀者能夠分辨好壞?特別主流媒體以 Hit Rate 主導,長遠來說,什麼是好?什麼是壞?大機構老闆難看清楚,小型獨立媒體,即使做得好,也要面對經營壓力。 」林亦非發現,香港紀實攝影行業正在面臨斷層問題,上一輩退休,年輕一代不清楚行內發展和過去的重要作品,推廣和教育甚重要。

「香港最早的紀實攝影應該是由《南華早報》開始,早年的本地報紙主要由文字記者兼任,直至九十年代《蘋果》出現,業界開始注重影像,跟隨發展;近年則是網媒主導,攝影主要以網路為先。」透過展覽, 團隊嘗試梳理香港紀實攝影發展,如回顧黃勤帶作品,可以舉辦學校導賞、工作坊、講座。「我們想做的不只是紀實,還有不同類型的攝影工作坊,如跟 Polaroid 合作。這也是另一種美學欣賞,直接或間接地影響對影像有要求的人。這街道很有趣,鄰近港大、學校,可以讓更多學生接觸攝影;社區感強,如旁邊車房的狗會探我們。平日客人大多是附近街坊,也有外國人,週末假日則是遊客、一家人。咖啡店有一種親和感,可以是辦公室,學生來做功課,記者來打稿;也可以輕鬆地看展覽/翻攝影書、參加工作坊,讓更多不同類型的人互相交流。」

Related