ART CRITICISM

Text by Chui Wan-Chun

At the Hong Kong Photobook Fair held last week (24-26 April 2017), photographer Dustin Shum, who is also the owner of a local photography bookstore, announced to reporters, “This is the last time we are participating in this book fair. We will be ending the business later this year.” Shum founded independent bookstore and exhibition space The Salt Yard with two partners in early 2013. The space ceased operation in 2015 and subsequently, The Salt Yard became an online bookstore, which is due to close down this year.   

Shum said he wanted Hong Kong’s photography culture to become more multi-faceted. Starting with operating an exhibition space and later an online bookstore, he hoped to bring non-mainstream and alternative photography works to reader’s attention.

Bookstore income not sufficient for survival

Shum explained, “I can’t see any way to run this business in a sustainable way.” Look around here,” he pointed out, referring to the book fair in general, “even more well-heeled publishers are down-sizing, so independent exhibitors like us are feeling the pinch all the more.”

He asked reporters, “I’m sure you must have asked around, how many people in the business are making money? The current situation is quite unhealthy. Paul Yeung’s photography book, Yes Madam, Sorry Ah Sir, for instance, was only made possible with crowd funding. Many of the publishers and book sellers at this exhibition, be they Japanese or local, are using their own money, and they are all struggling,” Shum said ruefully, “I can’t pretend everything is alright.”

Shum revealed that it was not possible to survive on his book store’s income alone, and therefore could only work on it part-time. He was mainly in charge of its daily operation, and aside from his bookstore duties, he had to work as a teacher to make ends meet. Lately, because of family problems, he found it difficult to manage his responsibilities. “As a photographer, I want to spend more time on my own works,” he added, “I have sacrificed too much of my time already.”

Local business only made up one-fifth of total

This stark reality was at odds with what Shum expected at the start. “Most of the orders from our online bookstore came from overseas, with local buyers comprising only one-fifth of our income. At the beginning, we hoped to promote good photo books to local photography fans. However, our business ended up serving mostly people from overseas, so it has lost its meaning for me.”

Despite the fact that many people from all over the world used the bookstore as a resource for the works of Chinese photographers, Shum thought that, “It means we do not have many local customers. Perhaps due to the fact that there aren’t many physical bookstores left, business has grown in the past few years, although the growth is not apparent and insufficient to sustain the business in a healthy way.”

Shum said that photobooks cater to a niche market with a limited readership whose numbers will not increase, nor will such books become mainstream.

Shum and partner Gary at the Hong Kong Photobook Fair. Shum saw the book fair as a book club and welcomed people to come and look at the books even if they didn’t buy anything.

Guerilla tactic is not healthy

Shum cited another independent publisher, brownie, who also participated in the book fair, “They are a full-time publisher with a clear system and direction, and know how to work with photographers. This is the proper way to go.” At the same time, Shum pointed out that due to the lack of a systematic sales and distribution system, many photographers were forced to self-publish. “This sort of guerilla tactic is not healthy, and we did it because there was no other way. No one was willing to take on this role and so we had to.”

Aside from the lack of local readers, Shum also felt that publishing photography books was more complicated nowadays. “You have to plan a whole campaign around it. In addition to book publishing, you need to organize exhibitions to attract media attention. Using exhibitions as a platform to launch photobooks is a common tactic.”

Shum mentioned the time when he published the 2008 photobook, Themeless Parks, “Back then, the internet was not so popular, and I could only distribute the book to the larger bookstores, but no one bought them. Now photobooks have formed a niche market, but since it is a niche product, there is only a limited number of readers which will not increase, nor will such books become mainstream.”

Shum recognized the importance of the publishing and sale of photobooks, “Someone needs to do this, but I myself can’t be a full-time publisher. There is only so much I can do, so it is best that I spend my energy on my own photography work and let other more competent people take my place. I’m done,” he sighed.

More an audience platform than a photographer’s platform

Shum had said that he hoped Hong Kong’s photography culture could become more multi-faceted. Starting with opening an exhibition space and operating an online bookstore, he had tried to bring non-mainstream and alternative photography works to the public’s attention and to find an audience for such works, as opposed to giving photographers the opportunity to exhibit their works. As he pointed out, “This is more an audience platform than a photographer’s platform.”

At the book fair, he showcased some alternative and challenging photography books, “Like Richard Mosse’s book of photos featuring refugees, taken with infrared cameras. Even if I’m not a fan of his work, I still want to introduce it to readers because photography needs to break new grounds.”

“In addition, I want to promote local low-key photographers, like myself, “ he joked, “or Tam Chi Wing’s book about the Umbrella Movement, We Are Not A Mob. He went through a lot of trouble in publishing the book but did not really promote it. Another example is a series of works I did in collaboration with photographer Chun-Dong Lam on behalf of the Society for Community Organization, and also the photo magazine Mahjong that I published alongside Kan-Tai Wong, Vincent Yu, Paul Yeung and Karl Chiu.” Shum saw the book fair as a book club, and welcomed people to come and look at the books even if they didn’t buy anything.

Another way of keeping in touch with photobooks

Shum told reporters that in the past couple of years, he had not begun any new projects due to illness in his family. At the moment, he would like to gradually lessen his workload so that he could devote more time to personal pursuits, including writing.

Over the past few years, Shum had been promoting books on photography at various organizations. For example, when the Goethe-Institut Hongkong was planning to present the German Photobook Award last year, Shum was asked to provide a list of Hong Kong candidates for their consideration. He also served as the editor for photographer Paul Yeung’s photobook Vajrayāna. In addition, Shum was a well-known photography criticism blogger. He stated, “The Salt Yard will not just disappear. We are just temporarily ceasing online retail operation but will continue with organizing and distribution work behind the scenes.”

Shum concluded, “I want to maintain my connection with photobooks and will continue to make books in the future. After all, I love photobooks. I just can’t keep up the retail part.”

Screenshot of the website Salt Yard

About the photographer

With more than ten years’ experience as a photojournalist, Dustin Shum has been the recipient of multiple photography awards including those given by the Newspaper Society of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Press Photographers Association, Amnesty International and Asian Media Awards. He has held various solo exhibitions including (Don’t) Dare to Dream, Alias: Xianggang, Photogenic Olympians, BLOCKS, BLOCKS phase II and Life and Times, a photography exhibition of People with Mental Illness.

Shum has also taken part in numerous local and international exhibitions, including City Flâneur: Social Documentary Photography, Pingyao International Photography Festival, Jimei X Arles: East West Encounters International Photo Festival, and has published numerous photobooks, and founded the photography exhibition space The Salt Yard in 2013. His works have been collected by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Hong Kong Heritage Museum.

This article was first published in HK01 on 2017-03-29.
Translation: Simon Chung

Related

藝文賞析

文:徐尉晉

在上周(24至26日)舉行的香港攝影書展,本地獨立攝影書店創辦人,攝影師岑允逸(Dustin)對記者透露:「其實這是我們最後一次參加書展了,我們將會於今年稍後結業。」2013年初,Dustin 與兩位朋友創立展覽場地及獨立書店 The Salt Yard,展覽場地在2015年結束運作,轉成以網上書店為主,經過兩年時間,書店將於今年正式結束。

Dustin曾經說過,希望讓香港攝影文化更加多元化。從開辦展覽場地開始,到網上書店,他致力為讀者搜羅一些非主流或另類的攝影作品。(徐尉晉攝)

書店收入難以維生

Dustin 解釋:「到現在也看不到有何真正可以持續發展(sustainable)的方法。」他以今次的攝影書展為例,指:「就算是資源比較豐厚的本地出版社,參展規模也正在縮減。何況是我們一些較為獨立的參展商,閒米煮閒飯的,就更加捉襟肘見。」

他對記者說:「相信你也問過不少人,真的賺到錢的人有幾多?其實現在也是很不健康的,你看楊德銘《Yes Madam, Sorry Ah Sir》攝影集,也需要用眾籌的方式才能出版,今次參展的出版社和書商,不論是日本、本地的出版商也好,很多都要自己掏荷包,很多人都是很辛苦地支撐着。」Dustin 感慨地說:「我不會唱好這東西的。」

他指,單靠書店的收入實在難以維生,因此只能用 part time 形式進行。書店的日常營運主要由他一人負責,除了書店的工作,他還不時要教書來維持生活,加上最近家裡有點事,因此感到十分吃力。 「作為一個攝影師,我也想多花時間拍攝自己的作品」,他說:「過去犧性得太多時間了。」

本地客只佔5分之1

現實環境與 Dustin 起初想像的大有不同,「例如我們網上書店,大部分訂單也來自外國,本地生意只佔5份之1左右。我最初希望,把攝影作品介紹給香港的攝影愛好者,但最後也是賣給外國人,我開始覺得沒有意義。」他說。

雖然現在有不少外國客戶透過他們來找中國攝影書,「但換句話說,我們沒有太多本地客。或許這與可能沒有實體店的關係吧。這幾年整體業務有增長,但不是很明顯,也不足夠去很健康地營運下去。」

Dustin表示,攝影書始終是小眾的書,讀者就是那一群,不會變多,也不會突然變成主流。(徐尉晉攝)

Dustin與拍檔Gary參與香港攝影書展。他形容,把今次書展當成一個讀書會,大家來揭揭書,最後不買也很開心。(徐尉晉攝)

打游擊的方式並不健康

Dustin 以今次參展的另一間本地獨立出版社 browine 為例,表示:「他們名正言順做一個全職的出版人,這才是方法,他們很有系統,很有方向,知道如何跟攝影師合作。」另一方面,他又指出,由於缺乏一個有系統的銷售網絡,許多攝影師往往要兼顧自主出版:「那種沒有章法的『打游擊』,很不健康,只不過是當時沒有辦法中的辦法,從前沒有人去做這件事,所以唯有自己把它『孭埋上身』。」

除了本地讀者的反應不理想,他也表示,現在出版攝影書的功夫比從前複雜了。「現在要整個 package 去搞,除了攝影書本身,也要透過展覽和媒體去散播這件事,例如用展覽去發布一本新書的做法十分常見。」

Dustin 提到,在2008年出版攝影集《係.唔係樂園》時,「當時沒有網絡,書只可以發行到較大型的書店,基本上沒有人買的。現在已變成一個小眾市場(niche market),但小眾的書,讀者就是那一群,不會變多,也不會突然變成主流。」

對於出版和銷售攝影書的工作,Dustin 仍是認同的,他說:「是有人需要做這些工作,但你要我做一個全職的出版人,我就不會了。」他說,「自己可以做到的實在有限,不如把能量放回自己的攝影創作上,讓其他有能之士去做。」他慨歎說:「這些都俱往矣。」

觀眾平台多於攝影師平台

Dustin 曾經說過,希望讓香港攝影文化更加多元化。從開辦展覽場地開始,到網上書店,他致力為讀者搜羅一些非主流或另類的攝影作品,希望透過這些作品去接觸讀者,多於想提供機會給攝影師展示作品。他形容:「這是一個觀眾平台多於攝影師平台。」

今次攝影書展,他也帶來了一些較為偏門,甚至連自己感到有挑戰性的攝影書,「好像 Richard Mosse 用紅外線相機拍攝難民的照片,就算自己不喜歡,也會希望介紹給讀者。因為攝影是需要新突破(break new ground)的。」

「另外,也會向讀者介紹一些本地較為低調的本地攝影師,例如我自己。」他笑說,「還有譚志榮拍攝雨傘運動的《我們不是暴民》,他一番心機出版了,可惜沒有怎樣去推廣宣傳。又例如,攝影師林振東和我為香港社區組織協會拍攝的一系列作品,我與黃勤帶、余偉健、楊德銘、趙嘉榮數年前合作的攝影刊物《麻雀》等。」Dustin 形容,把今次書展當成一個讀書會(book club),大家來揭揭書,最後不買也很開心。

另一種方式保持與攝影書的關係

Dustin 稱,自從這一兩年家人病了,也沒有開展過新的計劃。現在逐漸把手頭上的工作減少,未來希望有更多時間,專注做自己個人的事情,寫作也是其中一部分。

Dustin 曾為不同機構擔任介紹書本的工作,例如去年香港歌德學院頒發「德國攝影圖書獎」,曾找他提供一份香港攝影書名單。他也曾為攝影師黃勤帶編輯攝影集《Vajrayāna》。除此之外,他本身也是一位知名攝影評論博客。他補充道:「The Salt Yard 不會就此消失,只是暫時終止攝影書網上零售服務,以後還會繼續策劃和發行的幕後工作。」

「其實我也想保持和攝影書的關係。」他說:「將來我也會造書的,始終我是喜歡攝影書的。只是銷售這一部分已撐不下去。」

(The Salt Yard網站截圖)

攝影師簡介

岑允逸曾任攝影記者超過十年,獲得多個機構的攝影獎項,包括香港報業公會、香港攝影記者協會、國際特赦組織、亞洲傳媒大獎的獎項。他舉辦過個人展覽包括:「(不)敢作夢」、「別名:Xianggang」、「奧運健兒寫真」、「某座」、「某座二期」、「活一生人」精神病康復者攝影展等。

他亦參加過國外和本地多個展覽,包括「城市漫遊者─社會紀實攝影」、「平遙國際攝影節」、「集美X阿爾勒:東西方對話」國際攝影季等。岑允逸曾出版多本攝影集,並在2013創辦攝影展覽空間「The Salt Yard」,他的作品被美國三藩市現代美術館和香港文化博物館收藏。

原文刊載於《香港01》之《藝文創意》專欄內 日期:2017-03-29
原文連結:https://goo.gl/2Wt52k

Related